Marijuana Possession Attorney in Denver CO
You can be charged with a felony or misdemeanor when caught using more than 2 ounces of marijuana, possessing more than 4 ounces of the drug or cultivating the plants. You may need to contact a marijuana lawyer to investigate your case and help reduce your sentence.
Aggressive & Effective Marijuana Crime Defense Strategies
An experienced lawyer can help win your case by questioning the stated testimony, facts or evidence. They may also use procedural errors as a defense, which can also impact the outcome of your case.
An experienced lawyer will thoroughly investigate your case, including how the other party got the evidence. When an officer obtains the drugs illegally, such as by opening your car’s trunk without your permission or flying a drone in your location, a marijuana lawyer can cite unlawful search and seizure as a defense, and the court can exclude this evidence.
Talk to us if you’re charged with marijuana crime. Our marijuana defense lawyer in Denver will work with you to ensure you get the best possible outcome.
In Denver, you can buy marijuana for recreational use as long as you’re an adult over the age of 21. You may be required to present a valid ID proving you’re 21 or older. Some of the municipalities may also allow the selling of marijuana. However, keep in mind it’s illegal to drive after taking marijuana. You’re also not allowed to sell marijuana to minors or take it outside Colorado.
Adults can only have or use up to 2 ounces of marijuana, and you may be charged with illegal use if you have more than 2 ounces. Don’t consume, vape or smoke marijuana in public places, including sidewalks, concert venues, businesses, restaurants, bars, ski resorts or common areas in condominiums or apartment buildings. You can use marijuana in your apartment, but some property owners may ban it. Hotel owners may also ban the possession or use of marijuana. If you’re visiting other places in Colorado, we recommend researching marijuana laws to avoid penalties and other charges.
Classification of Marijuana Offenses
Using marijuana can be a petty offense as long it’s not more than 6 ounces. Otherwise, it’s already considered a misdemeanor. The sale or distribution of more than 4 ounces of marijuana is already considered a felony in Colorado. The penalties include incarceration and fines. Cultivating marijuana is also considered a felony and possessing more than 2 ounces of marijuana. If you’re charged with illegal use of marijuana, contact an experienced marijuana attorney to help win a case or reduce a sentence.
Penalties for Marijuana Charges
Using more than 2 ounces of marijuana is just a petty offense and may not have any jail term. However, there’s a fine of $100 and up to 24 hours of community service. A fine of $100 plus community service is the penalty when you’re caught using marijuana in public places or when you publicly display the drug.
If you use more than 2-6 ounces of marijuana, you may be incarcerated for up to 364 days plus a fine of $1,000. Using more than 6 ounces of marijuana can lead to an 18-month of jail term plus a fine of $5,000.
The sentence may be worse when you’re caught possessing (with an intent to distribute) more than 8 ounces of marijuana. Selling or distributing less than 4 ounces of marijuana can lead to up to 18 months in prison plus a fine of $5,000. You can be incarcerated for up to 32 years and be asked to pay a fine of up to $1,000,000, depending on the amount of marijuana you possess or sell.
Cultivating marijuana can result in 6 months to up to 2 years of incarceration and a fine of $100,000 when caught cultivating 6-30 plants. The prison term is up to 6 years, and the fine is $500,000 when found guilty of cultivating more than 30 plants of marijuana.
It’s okay to possess marijuana as long as it’s less than 2 ounces. However, 2-3 ounces is a misdemeanor and can lead to up to a year in prison plus a fine of $1,000 and up to 18 months, plus a fine of $5,000 when guilty of possessing more than 3 ounces of marijuana.
Get in Touch With Us
Criminal charges can have life-changing consequences. When charged with a marijuana crime, please talk to our marijuana defense attorneys at the Frankfurt Law Office, so we can represent you in court. Our attorneys have extensive experience and are knowledgeable about marijuana laws in the state. If you want the best outcome of your case, talk to us today.